RSS Feed

And it isn’t even his birthday

20120815-083739.jpg

Homemade General Tso’s Chicken…or as we call it, Crazy Chicken!

Nothing could have made him happier.

I was pretty intimidated to make this, but I am always up for a good cooking challenge….and with all of my crazy chicken lovers it was an inevitable endeavor.

My kids kept asking for chinese food so I hopped on my google surfboard and it led me to foodie with family and well…I had all of the ingredients already (I did use Bragg Liquid Aminos in place of soy sauce), so why not.

This recipe was very easy to make, but I did have to adjust the chicken batter liquids…the amount called for was too dry…so I just added a little water and that did the trick. The end result of the meal was full bellies, which equates to success in my kitchen. All the kids chowed down and when they were finished they said it wasn’t too shabby, especially since I didn’t order it. They did tell me that they would have liked it to be sweeter though. I knew what they were talking about…that intense spicy bite that makes your nose run and then out of nowhere is soothed by a sweet after taste that keeps calling your fork back. I think the next time I make this I will reduce the sesame oil in the chicken batter and cut the sauce with honey to get that…but I will have to play with it…it’s tough, after all our local Chinese restaurant has set a pretty high bar for this!

So thank you foodie with family , I’ll be back!

About chasingsimplicity

Wife and mother on a never ending quest for balance.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

