RSS Feed

Food waste – I married an oatmeal snob, and it’s hereditary

20120817-072518.jpg

After 10 days I’m just going to call this a loss. My kids won’t touch it…especially since they are oatmeal snobs. They get this from their Dad, he is one, too. They all prefer the little packets. I’ve tried all sorts of recipes….varied flavors, baking, slow cooking, etc…to no avail. I love oatmeal…but there’s only so much I can eat! Our oats have been banished to cookies.

About chasingsimplicity

Wife and mother on a never ending quest for balance.

6 responses »

  1. Cookies are not a bad way to go. Also, recently I found a zucchini bread recipe that called for cooked oatmeal. You might google for recipes that use cooked oatmeal next time you have a surplus.

    Reply
  2. If I ever have leftover cooked oatmeal that goes uneaten, I run it through the blender with the other wet ingredients for muffins. I reduce the liquids just slightly to compensate. No one is the wiser that there is leftover oatmeal in the muffins.

    We are big oatmeal eaters here. I make oatmeal that rival Jamba Juice’s, Starbucks and McDonalds take out oatmeal. So it’s hard for us to have leftovers, but when we do, muffins is how I use it.

    Reply
  3. If you want a good recipe for cookies using oats, try googling ANZAC biscuits, we love these at our place 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

