RSS Feed

Coconut Cream Pie

Isn’t she beautiful?!?! She should be, she took a while to make..plus, I’m bias. Oh, and my forearm now looks like it belongs to Popeye 🙂

Making a coconut cream pie from scratch (well the filling from scratch) is definitely a time commitment. So, make sure that you have about an hour and half to do this….with nothing else to do because you can’t walk away!

I used the recipe from Pinwheels. The directions seemed easy enough, and I had everything required to make it. However, there is not a time indicated in the directions for making the filling….so I was really lucky that I did this after my kiddos went to bed. I only changed 2 things from the original recipe. I toasted 3/4 cup of shredded coconut for the topping, and I waited to toast it until right before I wanted to put it on the pies.

I used pie shells that you can buy in the freezer section of the grocery store (this recipe is for two pies). I baked them at 425 degrees F for 10 minutes. When they were done I made the filling according to the directions. I learned that bringing something to a boil over low heat takes a REALLY long time! It will come to a boil…about an hour after you start stirring it over low heat. I followed the directions to a T though and stirred it the whole time. When it started to boil I took it off the heat and added the coconut as directed and poured the filling into the baked pie crusts. The consistency looked like this.

Then I put them in the fridge and went to bed at 2 a.m. I know, crazy!

At 7 a.m. when my six year old little darling tapped me on my nose I got up and we came downstairs. We spread the coconut shreds out on a foil lined baking sheet and browned them. I toasted 3/4 cup of coconut shreds, so I had to brown them longer than the 5 minutes called for…I watched them the whole time, and at the 5 minute mark I spread them around on the sheet with a fork every minute until they were toasted. It took about 8 minutes total.

We let the toasted coconut cool while we put the whipped topping on the pies. I just used cool whip. Then we sprinkled the pies with the toasted coconut and put them back in the fridge….again, doesn’t the final product look lovely.

Here’s the results: 4 out of 5 eaters loved this pie! The 5th eater was the one I was trying to impress, but sadly, he prefers instant pudding…so that’s fine, he can stick with Mrs. Smith or Sara Lee. If you don’t like homemade pudding I would also recommend you just stick with the non-homeade version.

I can honestly say that I loved this pie and I’ve never really been a big fan of coconut cream pies before. I don’t mind working hard on something for a long time if it’s really good, and this I’ll make again for company. I do think that next time I will just put all of the filling into a deep dish pie shell and then make a huge mound of whipped topping for the top layer as well. I also recommend that you wait and put the toasted coconut on the pie right before you serve it. If you put it on and refrigerate it it will get a little chewy, but nothing too bad. This pie is creamy and the coconut milk gave it a very real, yet mild coconut flavor. I don’t like overbearing, fake flavors in pies and this was definitely in the real flavor category!

Thank you Pinwheels for the delightful recipe!

About chasingsimplicity

Wife and mother on a never ending quest for balance.

Leave a Reply

